5 Books to Read This Summer

I’ve always enjoyed picking up a good book. Growing up, my favorite Disney princess was Belle because she loved reading. In college, I fell off the reading wagon because, well, it was college. Now that I’m “adulting”, I’ve rediscovered my love of reading. I’ve read quite a few books, from novels to old-school plays to memoirs to self-help books. One thing you should all know about me is that I won’t read a book I don’t like. Here’s a list of the top 5 books I’ve been touched by recently. Add them to your summer reading list and prepare to grow!

  • Yes, Please by Amy Poehler
    • Why it’s the best: It’s a nice dose of humility in an ego-centric world. It’s so nice to see someone who has achieved so much success be open about their regular life before they became a household name. It’s inspiring to see where Amy comes from and how she has maintained her truth even as she gained celebrity.
  • Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert
    • Why it’s the best: It’s down to earth and applies to everyone, no matter what you do. It’s about accessing and embracing your creativity in the everyday, without needing to quit your day job to pursue your dreams.
  • The Odds of Loving Grover Cleveland by Rebekah Crane
    • Why it’s the best: It’s a really affordable coming-of-age book that will make you feel full of youthful energy as you relate to and love these eccentric characters!
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
    • Why it’s the best: It’s out of the box, and will get you out of your own brain as you embrace Bernadette’s story, following through all the wonderful twists and turns! Plus, who doesn’t love a great Seattle novel?

♦♦♦♦♦

Bonus reads: If you’re into plays, my two most recent reads (both great) are Death of a Salesman and A View from the Bridge, both by Arthur Miller. I picked them up at the library and I absolutely love all of the character interactions. It’s really interesting to see how so many behaviors are timeless. Next on my drama reading list is Fifth of July by Lanford Wilson.

Hope you’ve found some fun reads; if you have any of your own most-loved books to share, I’d love to hear! Comment below or email lemonbassdrop@gmail.com with your suggestions! //

Leave a Reply

