An Attitude of Gratitude

I want to live a happy, healthy life. I’m sure you do too. Because we have so many goals to keep ourselves on track and to keep ourselves healthy, we often get caught up in what we’re doing and not doing, and often don’t take a lot of time to consider how wonderful our world is. Many people realize how lucky they are to have things once those things have disappeared (think about lost loves in movies, loss of bodily functions with age or trauma, etc.) but it doesn’t have to be that way! We can be grateful every day before we lose things.

When you exercise, how often do you think “Wow, I’m so lucky my body is able to move and become stronger?” I think most of us exercise and instead think “Wow, I can’t wait for this to be over.” Gratitude is a mental practice, and one that I have to work on every day. Sometimes, it’s really difficult to be grateful for something in the moment it’s happening. I get that. Luckily, there are easy ways to reflect and be grateful so that you can train your mind to find thankfulness in everyday moments.

Consider starting a gratitude journal, whether it is on paper or online. Start off the day writing three things that you are grateful for and explain why you are grateful for these three things. Here’s a fun example:

Today, I am grateful for:

  1. The rain falling from the sky because it will water the plants that provide me with food and beauty in my everyday life.
  2. My body for working hard to keep me healthy and strong every day that I am alive!
  3. My dog, for always being excited to see me and for being the cuddliest little dork around.

Not so bad, right? Now you try!

If you need a little help getting started, there’s an app that I use each morning to record my daily gratitude. It’s called Bliss, and it’s helped me incredibly. There are various gratitude exercises to practice, and it notifies me each morning so that I can’t forget to be grateful that day.

What is your favorite way to practice gratefulness? What kind of impact does it have on your life?

Til next time, friends! ~

 

Leave a Reply

